We’re proud to present 7 juried awards at this years festival, 42 nominated films, and 24 jurors.

Continuing our spirit of celebrating plurality of voices both on screen and behind the camera. Films across the programme originate from a record 47 countries of production, and 57% of competition titles are directed or co-directed by female filmmakers. The Award Ceremony will take place on Tuesday June 11 at 9pm.

 The festival will be a portal to infinite identities and horizons, brooding epics are punctuated by illuminous scenes, worlds contract to minutes, moments expand to hours, and hearts will thump out of time. Here are this year’s nominees and jurors.


Grand Jury Award

The award honours films that best display excellence in style, substance and approach to documentary filmmaking.

Nominated Films:

Diego Maradona / Asif Kapadia / UK
A Dog Called Money / Seamus Murphy / Ireland, UK
For Sama / Waad al-Kateab, Edward Watts / Syria, UK
Midnight Traveller / Hassan Fazili / Afghanistan
Mike Wallace Is Here / Avi Belkin / USA
Midnight Family / Luke Lorentzen / USA


Jeremy Deller
Charlotte Cook
Jenn Nkiru


Art Award

Supported by MUBI

The award champions bold new creative forms of non-fiction cinema and artists’ film.

Nominated Films:

While We Are Here / Clarissa Campolina, Luiz Pretti / Brazil
Rushing Green With Horses / Ute Aurand / Germany
The Hottest August / Brett Story / Canada
Mother, I Am Suffocating. This Is My Last Film About You. / Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese / Lesotho, Germany, Qatar
No Data Plan / Miko Revereza / Philippines
Fordlandia Malaise / Susana de Sousa Dias / Portugal 


Deborah Stratman
Leah Giblin
Amar Ediriwira


The Tim Hetherington Award  

Supported by Dogwoof

The award recognizes a film and filmmaker which best reflects journalist Tim Hetherington’s legacy.

Nominated Films:

One Child Nation / Nanfu Wang, Jialing Zhang / China, USA
Border South / Raul O. Paz Pastrana / Mexico, USA
Sumercé / Victoria Solano / Colombia
The Edge of Democracy / Petra Costa / Brazil
Dark Suns / Julien Elie / Canada
Your Turn / Eliza Capai / Brazil 


Gaylene Gould
Feras Fayyad
Eve Gabereau


International Award

The award honors the best new international non-fiction film, challenging global perspectives and bringing audiences to the heart of the story.

Nominated Films:

MOTHER / Kristof Bilsen / Belgium
Earth / Nikolaus Geyrhalter / Austria
Anthropocene: The Human Epoch / Jennifer Baichwal, Nicholas de Pencier, Edward Burtynsky / Canada
The Amazing Johnathan Documentary / Ben Berman / USA
The Black Tree / Máximo Ciambella, Damián Coluccio / Argentina
BLOCK / Victoria Alvares, Quentin Delaroche / Brazil, France 


Inadelso Cossa
Samara Chadwick
Nita Deda


Short Award

The award presents the best short films in the festival, made by emerging and established filmmakers from around the world. 

Nominated Films:

Ghosts of Sugar Land / Bassam Tariq / USA
Black to Techno / Jenn Nkiru / UK, USA
Wild Berries / Marianna Vas, Hedda Bednarszky, Romulus Balazs / Hungary, Romania
If You Knew / Stroma Cairns / UK
America / Garrett Bradley / USA
Misericordia / Xavier Marrades / Spain


Grace Barber-Plentie
Chris Osborn
Chloe Trayner


New Talent Award

The award discovers and honors the future of documentary film, celebrating new talent and fresh perspectives.

Nominated Films:

About Love / Archana Atul Phadke / India
Talking About Adultery / Bara Jichova Tyson / Czech Republic, USA
The Fortress / Andres Torres / Colombia
What We Left Unfinished / Mariam Ghani / USA, Afghanistan, Qatar
La Vida En Común / Ezequiel Yanco / Argentina
Cool Daddio: The Second Youth of R. Stevie Moore / Imogen Putler, Monika Baran / UK, Poland


Mathieu Ajan
Shola Amoo
Chloe Gbai


Youth Award

The award is selected by six of the UK’s most passionate young documentary lovers to celebrate non-fiction for young audiences.

Nominated Films:

Baracoa / Pablo Briones, The Moving Picture Boys / Argentina, USA
Jawline / Liza Mandelup / USA
Seahorse / Jeanie Finlay / UK
Searching Eva / Pia Hellenthal / Germany
Romantic Comedy / Elizabeth Sankey / UK
Los Reyes / Bettina Perut, Iván Osnovikoff / Chile 


Maeve Allen
Natalie Lorimer
Jenna Mahale
Mo-Jai Mckeown
Liam Taft
Timon Williams


Audience Award

The award is voted for by you, the Sheffield Doc/Fest audience, recognising the film that receives the highest audience vote during the festival. In memory of Dr Clifford Shaw.